Skip to main content

Book Trailers - for HS students: 4: Images, Video, Audio

Contains links, examples and instructions for creating student-made book trailers.

Sound Sources

SOUND Sources

SoundzAbound (through Badgerlink)   go to http://www.badgerlink.net/all 

Choose “All Resources” (green button on top left) and then scroll down to “s” for Soundazabound                               

From there, if you click on Soundz audio (halfway down) and then Volume 1, you can browse the audio list for a song length, type (acoustic, reggae, etc.) and download for free. “Soundzabound offers a wide variety of music, audio themes and sound effects for grades K -12 and universities that ensures your copyright safety. Perfect for podcasts, PowerPoint™, videos, news shows, video yearbooks, digital storytelling, presentations, TV broadcasts, web design and more!”

UJAM:  Sign up for a free account and play around a bit to create your OWN music for free. Under the “Create” tab, there is a “Jam-a-Gram” which is easy and funny.

Free Music Archive:  Every mp3 you discover on The Free Music Archive is pre-cleared for certain types of uses that would otherwise be prohibited by copyright laws that were not designed for the digital era.  These uses vary and are determined by the rightsholders themselves (please see their FAQ)

CC Mixter: Music on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons license. You are free to download and sample from music on this site and share the results with anyone, anywhere, anytime. Some songs might have certain restrictions, depending on their specific licenses. Each submission is marked clearly with the license that applies to it.

The Free Sound Project:  Unlike CC Mixter, which focuses on providing songs for use, the Free Sound Project works to provide sounds and audio snippets to users. It’s a great resource for sound effects like creeky doors or animal noises.

Royalty Free Music: MUST cite this source for music if used in any videos that will be published online. Example: Title Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com) 
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0, http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/  --- It is important that you replace the word Title with the Actual Title of the piece that you are using! The Licenses page has a quick copy-paste feature that makes it all very easy!

Purple Planet.com: Free Collection of Royalty Free Music available for immediate download, all composed  performed and produced by Geoff Harvey and Chris Martyn. All the music in the right-hand categories can be used free of charge for all kinds of project e.g. YouTube, your website, games, social media, films, education etc. Simply credit us with  the wording "Music: http://www.purple-planet.com" All music is copyright Purple Planet Music - terms of use are given in the Using Our Royalty-Free Music page.  

Josh Woodward.com: Produced with a Creative Commons license, you can freely download, share amd use all 200 of this artist's songs.

Dano Songs: He is an acoustic rock singer/ songwriter who says "I also like experimenting with all kinds of instrumental styles.Click here to license my royalty free music and songs."

Free Sound.org :Freesound aims to create a huge collaborative database of audio snippets, samples, recordings, bleeps, ... released under Creative Commons licenses that allow their reuse.

Free Stock Music: "We offer a wide variety of 100% free production music in ten genres: cinematic scores, classical, corporate, country, easy listening, electronic, hip-hop, international, pop and rock." Songs for video, movie, film, video game, or media project. "Our music comes with a royalty-free license allowing you to use the music in all types of productions for worldwide distribution, forever. There are never any fees."

Find Sounds: a free site for finding sound effects on the Web. It is a Web search engine, like Google and Yahoo, but with a focus on sounds. "It is simple and easy to use, and suitable for all ages. Note to parents: audio files containing obscenities are filtered out so this site is safe for children."

 see more options online here: http://www.symbaloo.com/mix/booktrailerresources

Using a RESERVE image look-up to cite images

from the Speed of Creativity blog:

  • downloaded a copy of the published YouTube video to a laptop using the website peggo.co
  • opened that video in QuickTime player, so we could “scrub” ahead in the movie to each image that was used.
  • used Skitch software to capture a screenshot of each image included in the video.
  • visited the website images.google.com and utilized Google’s “reverse image search” to find the original website link for each photo. This involved uploading the image, and then viewing the search results. Even though the girls used the “Ken Burns Effect” in iMovie for each photo, the Skitch screen captured versions provided large and good enough for reverse image search to work and locate the original website links.

... was a good learning experience for both of us, and I think reinforced for Rachel the importance of documenting / recording the source URLs/links for images when she’s doing a project. She was very impressed and pleased that we were able to find the source links after the project was finished. Hopefully she’ll make her works cited / bibliography “as she goes” from now one when working on similar media projects.

READ MORE, with helpful screenshots to illustrate the steps in the Speed of Creativity's post

A Note about COPYRIGHT

A note about copyright law: Copyright law basically means that if you didn’t create it (a song, a picture, etc.) then you cannot “publish it” (like online) without WRITTEN permission from the person who did create it. There is a sort of loophole called the Fair Use Act that basically says that if you are reviewing something (like a book, CD, movie, etc.), then you can use small parts of the item in your review.

  •     This means that you can use a book cover or a few illsutrations from a book if you are reviewing that Book.
  •     This means that, even if you cite something you’ve found on the Internet, you’re still breaking copyright law, so you cannot just use any image or music you find online.

    So, that’s pretty restrictive! And we don’t break the law! So, what CAN you do? You can create all your own material (Garageband, voiceovers, drawings, take your own photos) AND you can use images and photos from specific web sites that GIVE you the permission to use their “stuff.”

Image Sources

IMAGE Sources

School databases: These databases have images and videos that you CAN use in your presentations. AND, they even include the citations, too!

  • ABC-CLIO
  • Brittanica Online

Pics4Learning: Teachers and students can use the copyright-friendly photos & images for classrooms, multimedia projects, websites, videos, portfolios, or any projects in an educational setting.
See more at: http://pics4learning.com/#sthash.uXOrh0Wh.dpuf

Imagebase: These images are free to use for anything you want, non-profit, commercial, print, web, screen, film, or anything else.  You don’t have to credit my name or this site.  “We’d love if it you did give us credit or link back to the site, but it is not required.”
list is continued next page

American Memory Project: The Library of Congress’s American Memory Project provides digital copies of photos (as well as other media) to serve the public as a resource for education and learning. Many of the images are in the public domain. Each image has a link to a rights and permissions page, so read up before you download.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery: The Digitial Gallery provides over 700,000 images digitized from the NYPL collections. Materials downloaded from the New Your Public Library Digital Gallery may be used personal, educational, or research purposes; they may not be used for commercial purposes.

University of Texas at Austin Portrait Gallery: This site features a selection of portraits of historical figures from the Perry-Castañeda Library at the University of Texas at Austin. The images in this collection are in the public domain. You do not need to ask for permission to use these images.

U.S. Government Photos and Images: This page contains a collection of links to government agencies with digitized photo collections. From Grand Canyon Nation Park to the National Institute of Health, this extensive list is worth browsing. Note the disclaimer at the top: most images are in the public domain, but some have special licenses.

+ Flickr: Creative Commons Search: Flickr has teamed with Creative Commons to provide a search engine that combs Flickr for images you can use. The same rules apply as with other Creative Commons searches, check the license and attribute where necessary.

Using YouTube Video/ Audio

There are a number of web sites that help you download video and audio from YouTube. Here are two:

Firefox has a plug-in you can add to download from YouTube: An extension that adds direct links to download YouTube videos as MP4 and FLV. It has a simple interface and it downloads videos directly from YouTube. The extension integrates with YouTube's interface and adds a download button below the player.

Please keep FAIR USE and copy right law in mind when incorporating audio and video from YouTube into video projects. A good rule of thumb is less than 30 seconds, but this is not LAW and could still be breaking copyright law.

Remember, citation does not equal permission.