Skip to main content

La Follette Library Portal: Databases

Connect - Discover - Achieve

Reference

Britannica Online Provided by BadgerLink

Enciclopedia Unversal en Espanol  Provided by BadgerLink

Merriam-Webster High School Dictionary

EasyBib (use your school email address to create a free, full account)

EspaƱol (Spanish)

the Spanish Library Portal: http://madison.campusguides.com/bibliotecadeespanol 

Some highlights: 

MMSD Recursos de Escritura (MMSD Writing Resources)

MMSD Recursos de Lectura (MMSD Reading Resources)

Others: 

Enciclopedia Moderna for high school and college students and Britannica Escolar for elementary and middle school students.

Informe Académico proporciona acceso a periódicos y revistas especializadas de lengua española y portuguesa. La base de datos ofrece una amplia gama de contenidos sobre América Latina.

BrainPOP en Español:  https://esp.brainpop.com/

Images

Includes American History, World History-Ancient, World History-Modern & Issues and Controversies.

Auto Repair Reference Center (ARRC) is the most comprehensive collection of automobile repair reference information and contains repair and maintenance information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles.

The CultureGrams Online Database is a leading reference for concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural information on countries across the globe.

Provided by BadgerLink

Britannica Imagequest

 

Home access:  Username: Madison  Password: qwerty

This database provides students with nonjudgmental, straightforward, curricular and self-help support on topics such as diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, mental health, suicide, bullying, green living and financial literacy plus many more.

LHS ARCHIVES

Click on the photo (above) to visit the Archives web site. It has lesson plans, the archives mission statement, newsletters, and a calendar.
  • The call #s start with ARCHIVES and are followed by the year-item number. The school began archiving in 1999 and their first item is from the Drivers' Education class. Thus ARCHIVES 1999-001 is the first call number...continuing up to the present.
  • Check in the archives or with LMC staff for a list of suggested key words to help you search, such as "Administration" "Athletics" and "Teaching and Learning."
  • There are 1000s of items. Have fun searching!

The La Follette High School archives have been maintained by retired teacher Victoria Straughn for many years. On Nov. 1, 2017, Ms. Straughn passed away somewhat unexpectedly. Lancers that knew her can agree that she was a special woman who contributed much to the community above and beyond her time in the classroom and she will be missed. You may read her obituary online here.

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.

Provided by BadgerLink

LitFinderThis database is a resource for full-text literary works, including poems, short stories, novels, essays, plays and speeches.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online resource covering today’s hottest social issues,

Opposing Viewpoints

SIRS Issues Researcher (resources) is a general reference database containing thousands of full-text articles exploring 300+ social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues.

x

Flocabulary

Image result for flocabulary

READ 180

Read 180 company logo