Skip to main content

Shabazz City High School : Resource Websites

TED Blog

TED Icon

TED (Technology Entertainment Design) is an excellent web source to use for education. It provides TED Talks that TED also sponsors TED-Ed, which is in Beta at this point, but focuses on bringing teachers and animators together to create the world's best lessons.  I chose to turn this widget into a live feed of the TED Blog. The links below are the five most recent posts. Under the TED Talks page of the website, users can filter their search by language, length, rating, subject, or view all. Users can even view a Google Spreadsheet of every TED Talk to date. Another useful feature is TED Playlists in which groups of Talks are organized into thematic playlists, providing an organized structure. These videos are engaging, informative, inspiring, and persuasive. While they may not be the lesson plan in it's entirely, the Talks provide excellent introductions to units, demonstrate practical applications, or heighten student understanding of a concept you are trying to teach.

Loading

TeachingBooks.net

Provided by BadgerLink

TeachingBooks.net is a website that contains a database of multimedia resources about authors, illustrators, and texts. It is an excellent tool for supporting literacy and bringing books to life. The site can be searched by book title, author, illustrator, subject, or book list. Equally, users can browse by facets like grade-level, genre, and collection. Some of the special collections include curricular use, common core standard, and award-winners. Finally, users can browse by type of content. TeachingBooks.net includes resources like Meet-the-Author Movies, Meet-the-Author Book Readings, Audio Name Pronunciations, and Book Guides and Lesson plans. While it is not a comprehensive list, the selection is varied. The website's primary audience is K-12 educators, so by default, the majority of texts are geared toward K-8 students, but the high quality of materials for high school students makes it worth browsing through the other titles--especially if you have a particular text or author in mind.

ReadWriteThink

Read Write Think offers a wealth of quality resources in an easy to navigate web interface. The site offers resources for the classroom, professional development, parents and afterschool programs. It is sponsored by the International Reading Association and the National Council of Teachers of English, so the majority of sources are focused on literacy, as the title of the website suggests. Resources can be searched directly or users can browse faceted categories, such as grade-level, resource type, learning objective, and theme. Classroom resources include lesson plans, student interactives, and mobile apps. The professional development section includes teaching strategy guides, a professional library, and online professional development webinars. Finally the parents and afterschool resources features activities and projects, games and tools, tips and how-to's, printouts and podcasts. Users can subscribe to over 35 RSS Feeds organized by resource type and grade level. Read Write Think can be a source of inspiration if you're creating a new unit, or it can be a tool to revitalize a unit that you've been teaching for several years.

Common Core State Standards

The Common Core State Standards Initiative has been adopted by Wisconsin. View the complete Standards in PDF format.
For an overview, see:


The Common Core State Standards Initiative homepage provides information about the standards themselves, but they also include support materials: informational resources, news, FAQs, and summaries of the standards for easy review. The informational resources include ways in which to apply the standards to assist non-native English speakers and students with disabilities. The website's homepage highlights the mission statement, voices of support and a map that features the states who have/have not adopted the CCSS as persuasive tools to encourage adoption. The National Governor's Association Center for Best Practices (NGA Center) and the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) authored the materials. Because the website is managed by the author's of the website, there is no documentation within the site that identifies weakness or offers a critical perspective through which to view the standards.