Skip to main content

O'Keeffe Middle School: Databases

O'Keeffe Library Mission: Connecting learners to literature, resources and technology to discover and achieve.

Database Passwords

Click here for Database Log ins

When you are off the school network, you will need a username and password to access the databases. You will need to be signed into your MMSD Google Account in order to access.

First Column

Encyclopedia Style  / General Databases

 

Explora

Explora dataebase logo

An encyclopedia of general information for the public, targeted at middle and high school level students. Provides topic overview articles and many features that make information accessible to the researcher.

How to Use Explora

Research in Context

Research in Context - Gale

Created specifically for middle school students, Research In Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more.

How to Use GALE Research in Context

More Resources for How to Use GALE Research in Context

FactCite

FactCite Owl Logo

FactCite Lincoln Library Online supports student research at school or from anywhere! Here is information about accessing award-winning FactCite: Lincoln Library Online, a collection of research databases from Lincoln Library Press!

Encyclopedia Britannica

Provided by BadgerLink

Britannica School Middle logo
Encyclopedia articles with images, interactive maps, games, and other learning materials. For middle school students and educators.

How to Use Britannica

To access Britannica outside of school you will need to use your public library card number and PIN.

 

En Español

Provided by BadgerLink

logo for Britannica Escolar

Enciclopedia español para los estudiantes más jóvenes y educadores Spanish encyclopedia for younger students and educators.

To access BadgerLink outside of school you will need to use your public library card number and PIN.

Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

Provided by Badgerlink

Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia for college-level and adult researchers. Provides topic overview information.

CultureGrams

Culture Grams logo

World Culture Encyclopedia

Infoplease.com

infoplease.com logo

Infoplease is a free online encyclopedia put out by Pearson Education. All of the information found on the site is gathered from trusted sources, and it acts like a typical encyclopedia. 

Sheppard Software

CIA World Factbook

CIA logo

Second Column

Specific Discipline Database

 

SIRS Researcher

SIRS Issues Researcher
Includes an overview of the controversial topic, pro/con sides, and articles on the issue.

How to Use SIRS Researcher

Username and password required for remote access.
Ask your librarian.

 

Teen Health and Wellness

Teen Health and Wellness real life real answers

Covers issues relating specifically to the health and wellness of teens.

How to Use Teen Health & Wellness

Username and password required for remote access. Ask your librarian.

Britannica Middle Online World Atlas

Provided by Badgerlink.

Britannica School Middle logo
World Atlas
Interactive world atlas designed especially for middle school students and educators.

 

BadgerLink

[ BadgerLink logo ]

To access BadgerLink outside of school you will need to use your public library card number and PIN.

Library of Congress

symbol for library of congress

Library of Congress is a wealth of historical information.

Wisconsin Historical Society

logo for Wisconsin Historical Society

Information pertaining to history in and of Wisconsin.

Biography.com

Biography,com logo

Every life has a story.  With over 7,000 biographies, Biography.com captures the most gripping, surprising and fascinating stories about famous people.

Flocabulary

Flocabulary logo

Brain Pop

Access Public Libraries for Research

the word library

Access community libraries for more resources.