Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Educational Video Collections
These sites are full of videos on a wealth of topics that can help grab your students’ attention.
If you’re looking for teacher submitted and approved video and audio content for your courses, give this site a try.
This educational site offers videos that can work well for students from grade school as well as those geared towards high school or college students.
Visit this site to search through a great collection of educational content.
Sponsored by George Lucas, this site contains some great lesson plans as well as an assortment of lectures and inspiring videos.
Here you’ll find educational videos on just about every topic you could imagine.
Explore.org shares live animal cams, films, educational channels, and more for your classroom to explore.
Google Educational Videos
Here you’ll find instructions on how to search through Google Videos and bring up only those that relate to education.
On this site teachers and students alike can find free lectures from learning institutions around the world.
This site believes that kids learn better by seeing and doing, and offers a wide range of educational videos and games to help them do it.
Next Vista For Learning provides a library of free videos made by and for teachers and students everywhere.
If you still haven’t found the video you’re looking for, consider paying a visit to this site. It will help you search through hundreds of sites for the best educational content on the web.
On this site, teachers can post their own educational videos and find videos made by others on virtually every topic out there.
Check out this site to get access to the great content offered by YouTube, but narrowed down to all but educational videos.
YouTube for Schools
Thousands of free high quality educational videos in a very secure and controlled learning environment.
Video sharing platform for schools featuring original content created by students.
Common Sense Media
There's a wealth of additional curricular materials relating to digital citizenship offered by Common Sense Media, especially the nine CCSS-aligned videos and lessons created in collaboration with the Teacher Channel.
Five Minute Film Festival
Edutopia’s recently selected Five-Minute Film Fest: Teaching Digital Citizenship, is intended to offer tools to make the case that it’s critical to teach this, and then launchpad videos to seed classroom discussions once you've carved out that precious time.
Free Movies and Clips
Visit these sites to get access to free documentaries, public domain films and short clips.
Film Clips Online
Here you’ll find short, and legal to use film clips that are perfect for the classroom.
Use this site to find some free documentary films for the classroom.
Top Documentary Films
Search through the documentaries on this site to find something perfect for the lessons you’re creating.
General Video Collections
Hear from experts in fields like history, technology and business in this impressive collection of lectures from Google.
These sites do offer some great educational content, but contain other types of videos as well.
Check out this site from video programming that asks you to truly think about a topic. Not all videos may be appropriate for the classroom, but there are definitely a few that could spark some interesting conversation.
This PBS site is absolutely full of video lectures from authors, academics and thinkers, but you’ll also find some great free PBS programs on topics that are especially relevant to history, science and technological education.
This site compiles videos from all over the web, giving you access to archives, public domain movies and a whole lot more.
The Open Video Project
If you want access to loads of public domain digital video, go through the archives collected on this high-tech library site.
Get your students or even yourself inspired with the amazing lectures posted on this site.
Government and Organizations
Go through these sites to get great videos and footage from the past and present of American history
American Memory Motion Pictures
If you prefer to look through the material on your own, this site will let you search through the multimedia material held by the Library of Congres
Library of Congress Teacher Resources
This site helps bring together some of the best material offered by the Library of Congress for use in a range of lesson plans on American History.
National Science Foundation Multimedia
Here, the NSF provides educators and interested learners with videos of nature, interviews, animations and a whole lot more.
From live footage of space shuttles and space stations to programming geared towards use in the classroom, this NASA site is an invaluable resource for teachers looking to add to lessons about space travel.
Use these short clips as a way of showing students about our world and the universe that lies beyond.
History, Arts and Social Sciences
Here you’ll find a great collection of videos to illustrate the past and help your students see the beauty of the arts.
The Archaeology Channel
Help your students to explore the history of mankind through the great free content offered here.
This site will let you see some of the work being done by up-and-coming artists.
With lesson plans and interactive online experiences for students, the videos found here are just the icing on the cake
Use this site to show students documentaries about traditional and folk culture in America.
This site explores the primary historical documents central to understanding American history.
Kennedy Center Archives
Through this site you can show students performances from some of the most amazing musicians in the world.
This site collects the biographies of well-known people around the world told by the people who know it best–themselves.
Social Studies Video Dictionary
Your students can look up vocabulary words in style with this video dictionary.
CNN Student News Video
This is a daily web show highlighting a handful of stories. The stories covered by CNN Student News range from traditional serious news topics to how-to stories appealing mostly to students to light and fun stories.
Got five minutes? Then you have enough time to watch one of these great instructional videos.
If you’ve got no clue how to use a technology or want to see how things work in video form, these tutorial-filled sites should be your first stop.
If you want to know how to do something, this site is a great place to start looking for instruction.
Learn how to make some great crafts that can accompany your lessons, play new games, or just figure out how to do something you’ve always wanted to do through this site.
You can not only find great videos on this site, but you may even be able to earn a little extra when others use videos you post.
Want to create a class website but don’t even know where to begin? This site offers some excellent tutorials on all the programming languages and tech expertise you’ll need.
Wonder How To
No matter what you’re trying to accomplish around the classroom, this site likely has a video to help you do it.
Awesome Stories Video
Use the videos on this site in all kinds of lessons. You’ll find content that ranges from discussing the lives of penguins in Antarctica to the role of African Americans in WWII.
These video sites offer some great content to add to your lesson plans, and many are geared towards students so they can use them at home as well.
While not all the content on this site is free, teachers can still find some great animated videos on a wide range of topics on this site for use in the classroom.
Choose a subject like history, science or even sports on this site and you’ll get access to some amazing educational content.
This not-for-profit organization wants people everywhere to have access to educational content, and on their site, you can find instructional videos on numerous topics.
Kids Know It Network
This site contains videos on topics like dinosaurs, biology, geography, history and math that are free to use and share.
Meet Me at the Corner
This site offers students educational programming, book clubs, podcasting lessons and even virtual field trips–all great additions to lessons.
Featuring learning playlists, MentorMob is a great place to find lessons you want to teach.
Create a free profile on this site and you will get access to hundreds of lessons with accompanying videos, photos and other media.
This site is a goldmine for teachers, with videos posted by subject, grade level, popularity and with the added bonus of a special section for professional development as well.
Use engaging videos on TED-Ed to create customized lessons. You can use, tweak, or completely redo any lesson featured on TED-Ed.
Designed for younger students, this site is home to some great educational videos on everything from inspirational biographies to ESL help.
Miscellaneous Video Sources
Network and Program Videos
BBC Learning offers thousands of clips that have been pre-edited and selected to work well in the classroom.
These video sites are maintained by TV networks, offering videos of their programming for teachers to use for free.
Let your students learn more about famous figures in history using the short clips from the Biography Channel found here.
C-SPAN Video Library
Students learning about government can see it in action through the videos here.
NBC News sponsors this site that offers great clips of important world events.
National Geographic Video
From nature to ancient cultures, you’ll find videos aplenty on this site.
Nova Teachers Watch Video Online
Using this site you can show clips or whole programs from the television series Nova.
With this site you’ll be able to bring the great content from PBS right into your classroom for free.
Science, Math and Technology
For lessons about the natural world, this site is perfect. It contains a wide range of videos on the animal and plant life of Earth.
On these sites, the videos focus on the fields of science, math and technology
Explore biology with a little help from this site, offering videos and animations that can be a big help in teaching complex topics.
Students can find homework help in math and science, even test prep, too.
This site is full of lectures and videos on the human brain and psychology.
Check out the webcasts on this site to let your students hear from biologists, cosmologists, physicists and more.
The Futures Channel
This online channel is full of lessons and video clips on all types of math and science topics, from how to predict the weather to how to build stronger snowboards.
How Stuff Works Videos
Show your students amazing and instructional videos through the content on this site.
If your students are struggling to understand a mathematical concept, augment their lessons with some of the material found on this site
The Science Network
See interviews with big names in science that touch on important topics like stem cell research, evolution, neuroscience, genetics, learning and more on this site.
You’ll find everything from videos of the Hubble Telescope to problems with human nutrition on this research-focused site.
Give your students a view into the real working world of science, with this site that allows scientists to post videos of their real-life research for students and other scientists to use.
Steve Spangler Science
Hands-on science videos.
The Vega Science Trust Videos
Let your students see potential science careers, discuss important issues and see inspirational figures in the field with videos found on this site.
Visit this site to see a wide range of lectures and courses from schools like Yale, Princeton and MIT, giving you the opportunity to learn more about your subject matter without spending a dime.
Check out these sites to find some videos that will help you learn more about the subjects you teach and the technology you use.
Classroom 2.0 Video
Those who struggle with implementing technology in the classroom should check out the videos on this site. You’ll learn how to do a wide range of technological tasks and there are lesson-worthy videos on the site as well.
While you will find a great deal of video content that can be of use in the classroom, the real wealth of this site lies in the great personal development materials for teachers.
Teacher Training Videos
If you need a little extra instruction on working with technology or students with ESL needs, check out the free content on this
Teaching Channel is a video showcase -- on the Internet and TV -- of innovative and effective teaching practices in America's schools. It is a non-profit organization.
Videos for Personal Development
Check out this site for a listing of some truly great personal development videos that will help your general teaching skills as well as your technological knowledge.
You can work with colleagues, parents or on your own in real time using this free online video and collaboration tool.
If you want to share, upload or store your own videos, consider using one of these great online tools.
Keep your educational video collection private using this hosting site.
This site is a great social networking forum for students and teachers to share videos.
Create an account on this site and you’ll be able to store all kinds of video content.
Search through this site for other educational videos even if you’re not quite ready to post your own.