Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Langston Hughes by
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
"A biography of writer Langston Hughes that describes his era, his major works--especially his most famous and influential prose and poetry, his life, and and the legacy of his writing"--Provided by publisher.
Zora Neale Hurston by
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Examines the life of the famous author best known for 1937 novel "Their Eyes Were Watching God".
African-American Literature by
Publication Date: 2011-03-25
Each volume in the Lucent Library of Black History examines an event or time period of particular significance in African American history. Every effort is made to place the events under discussion in context, so that readers will understand the connection between black history and the broad sweep of America's story. Each chapter contains sidebars that highlight relevant personalities and events. Numerous photos and illustrations help illuminate and support the text. Complete documentation of all quotes and annotated bibliographies enhance the value of these books as a research tool for students. Book jacket.
The Harlem Renaissance by
Publication Date: 2008-06-01
African-American literature, art, and music exploded with creativity in the Harlem section of New York during the 1920s. Artists and thinkers like poet Langston Hughes, activist and writer W.E.B. Du Bois, and painter Aaron Douglas began to explore their African roots. The Harlem Renaissance was also a time when blacks tried to change their situation, seeking greater equality and the same civil rights that whites enjoyed. In this book, learn how African Americans explored their rich cultural history and their identity in the ever-changing United States.
The Harlem Renaissance by
Publication Date: 2008-02-01
Throughout the course of America's existence, its people, culture, and institutions have been periodically challenged-and in many cases transformed-by profound historical events. Some of these momentous events invigorated the nation and strengthened American confidence and capabilities. Others have prompted troubled assessments and heated debates about the country's core beliefs and character. But all share the same basic attribute: they transformed the United States' political, cultural, and social landscape for future generations of Americans.
The Harlem Renaissance by
Publication Date: 2005-07-22
Each book in the Lucent Library of Black History examines an event or time period of particular significance in African American history. Every effort is made to place the events under discussion in context so that readers will understand the connection between black history and the broad sweep of America's story. Each chapter contains sidebars that highlight relevant personalities or events. Numerous photos and illustrations support the text. A time line, complete documentation for all quotes, and two annotated bibliographies enhance the value of these books as research tools for students. Book jacket.
Harlem Renaissance by
Publication Date: 2000-09-15
This authoritative resource presents the people, places and times that defined an era and documents the outpouring of cultural creativity among African Americans in 1920s Harlem. Includes a comprehensive overview of the era, covering early influences; themes and issues; literature, music, dance and drama; Harlem nightlife; sculpture and photography; and the eventual dissolution of the movement.
A Renaissance in Harlem by
Publication Date: 1999-11-01
Established to create jobs during the Depression, the Work Projects Administration sent writers into the neighborhoods and alleyways of Harlem to capture its distinctive voices during its most flamboyant, socially active and aesthetically vibrant era. It was a time when Harlem was Mecca, as vital as any world capital, surging with a tide of Negro migrants in search of the American Dream. The 1930s heralded the greatest period of self-discovery in African-American history after the Civil War and before the Civil Rights movement of the 1960s.In this illuminating document, we are introduced to a West Indian conjure man known for his infallible charms and herbal remedies; a dancer at the Apollo Theater who mourns the untimely death of the entertainer who inspired her; a domestic worker determined to fight for fair wages and better treatment. And we meet Matt Henson at his retirement from his government job, still denied official recognition for his status as the first American to plant the United States flag on the North Pole.Enter the bars, the nightclubs, the beauty shops, the street markets, the employment offices and homes. Visit with fish vendors, war veterans, Pullman porters, prostitutes, and countless others. Come listen to the memorable sounds of swing music, the singing and shouting of church choirs, and the lonely plea of a mournful spiritual.A Renaissance In Harlem is an essential addition to the historical record of the African-American experience, a startling re-creation of a lost era in the life of New York City, and a valuable look at the early writings of two masters of American literature. Filled with humor, compassion, outrage and hope, it is an uplifting celebration of a place and people integral to the American story.
The Portable Harlem Renaissance Reader by
Publication Date: 1994-06-01
The best literature that emerged from a flowering of African American culture centered in Harlem between the world wars.
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Literary Renaissance by
Publication Date: 2005-10-01
A broad artistic movement of the 1920s and early '30s that involved literature, the visual arts, and music, the Harlem Renaissance was one of the most productive eras in American literary history. Concentrating on the literary side of the movementthe writers, works, periodicals, editors, publishers, critics, and related topicsEncyclopedia of the Harlem Literary Renaissance provides authoritative coverage and unique insight into the literature of the Harlem Renaissance. Coverage includes: Writers, poets, important critics, and others who were linked to the literature that emerged from the Harlem Renaissance
Harlem Speaks by
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Harlem Speaks showcases the lives and works of the artists, writers and intellectuals behind the stunning outburst of African American culture in the three decades after World War I. In the tradition of the New York Times bestseller Poetry Speaks, the book combines each subject's key works with biographical and critical essays by leading Harlem Renaissance authority Cary Wintz and other experts. The integrated audio CDs feature music, poetry and literary readings, interviews, radio broadcasts, discussions and speeches, bringing the Harlem of legend to vibrant life once again. Hear, see and read the best of: Langston Hughes Claude McKay Zora Neale Hurston Richard Wright Duke Ellington Ethel Waters Josephine Baker Marcus Garvey Alain Locke and more The audio also includes never-before-released interviews conducted by Pulitzer Prize-uwinning author David Levering Lewis. Evocative and encompassing, Harlem Speaks places you at the zenith of this vital cultural movement.