Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Copyright and Fair Use : Step 4: Search for Fair Use Images, Sound, and Video

Sound Sources

SOUND Sources

SoundzAbound (through Badgerlink)   go to http://www.badgerlink.net/all 

Choose “All Resources” (green button on top left) and then scroll down to “s” for Soundazabound                               

From there, if you click on Soundz audio (halfway down) and then Volume 1, you can browse the audio list for a song length, type (acoustic, reggae, etc.) and download for free. “Soundzabound offers a wide variety of music, audio themes and sound effects for grades K -12 and universities that ensures your copyright safety. Perfect for podcasts, PowerPoint™, videos, news shows, video yearbooks, digital storytelling, presentations, TV broadcasts, web design and more!”

UJAM:  Sign up for a free account and play around a bit to create your OWN music for free. Under the “Create” tab, there is a “Jam-a-Gram” which is easy and funny.

Free Music Archive:  Every mp3 you discover on The Free Music Archive is pre-cleared for certain types of uses that would otherwise be prohibited by copyright laws that were not designed for the digital era.  These uses vary and are determined by the rightsholders themselves (please see their FAQ)

CC Mixter: Music on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons license. You are free to download and sample from music on this site and share the results with anyone, anywhere, anytime. Some songs might have certain restrictions, depending on their specific licenses. Each submission is marked clearly with the license that applies to it.

The Free Sound Project:  Unlike CC Mixter, which focuses on providing songs for use, the Free Sound Project works to provide sounds and audio snippets to users. It’s a great resource for sound effects like creeky doors or animal noises.

Using YouTube Video/ Audio

There are a number of web sites that help you download video and audio from YouTube. Here are two:

Firefox has a plug-in you can add to download from YouTube: An extension that adds direct links to download YouTube videos as MP4 and FLV. It has a simple interface and it downloads videos directly from YouTube. The extension integrates with YouTube's interface and adds a download button below the player.

Please keep FAIR USE and copy right law in mind when incorporating audio and video from YouTube into video projects. A good rule of thumb is less than 30 seconds, but this is not LAW and could still be breaking copyright law.

Remember, citation does not equal permission.

Using Google for images to reuse

Image Sources

IMAGE Sources

School databases: These databases have images and videos that you CAN use in your presentations. AND, they even include the citations, too!

  • ABC-CLIO
  • Brittanica Online

Pics4Learning: Teachers and students can use the copyright-friendly photos & images for classrooms, multimedia projects, websites, videos, portfolios, or any projects in an educational setting.
See more at: http://pics4learning.com/#sthash.uXOrh0Wh.dpuf

Imagebase: These images are free to use for anything you want, non-profit, commercial, print, web, screen, film, or anything else.  You don’t have to credit my name or this site.  “We’d love if it you did give us credit or link back to the site, but it is not required.”
list is continued next page

American Memory Project: The Library of Congress’s American Memory Project provides digital copies of photos (as well as other media) to serve the public as a resource for education and learning. Many of the images are in the public domain. Each image has a link to a rights and permissions page, so read up before you download.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery: The Digitial Gallery provides over 700,000 images digitized from the NYPL collections. Materials downloaded from the New Your Public Library Digital Gallery may be used personal, educational, or research purposes; they may not be used for commercial purposes.

University of Texas at Austin Portrait Gallery: This site features a selection of portraits of historical figures from the Perry-Castañeda Library at the University of Texas at Austin. The images in this collection are in the public domain. You do not need to ask for permission to use these images.

U.S. Government Photos and Images: This page contains a collection of links to government agencies with digitized photo collections. From Grand Canyon Nation Park to the National Institute of Health, this extensive list is worth browsing. Note the disclaimer at the top: most images are in the public domain, but some have special licenses.

+ Flickr: Creative Commons Search: Flickr has teamed with Creative Commons to provide a search engine that combs Flickr for images you can use. The same rules apply as with other Creative Commons searches, check the license and attribute where necessary.