Developing video or multimedia projects without storyboarding is like trying to go someplace you’ve never been without directions. Storyboarding is an essential tool for planning any multimedia or video production. Using a storyboard will reduce production time and frustrations.
What is a storyboard? Think of the storyboard as a visual script, which acts as a blueprint for the “look” of the completed project. What will you see on the computer screen or on a television? A storyboard shows not only the individual shots (in the case of a video) or screens (for computer-based multimedia), but the sequence as well. Storyboards come in many shapes and sizes, depending on the project requirements, the director, and the storyboard artist.
School databases: These databases have images and videos that you CAN use in your presentations. AND, they even include the citations, too!
Archive.org: Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, and more.
Pics4Learning: Teachers and students can use the copyright-friendly photos & images for classrooms, multimedia projects, websites, videos, portfolios, or any projects in an educational setting.
See more at: http://pics4learning.com/#sthash.uXOrh0Wh.dpuf
Imagebase: These images are free to use for anything you want, non-profit, commercial, print, web, screen, film, or anything else. You don’t have to credit my name or this site. “We’d love if it you did give us credit or link back to the site, but it is not required.”
list is continued next page.
American Memory Project: The Library of Congress’s American Memory Project provides digital copies of photos (as well as other media) to serve the public as a resource for education and learning. Many of the images are in the public domain. Each image has a link to a rights and permissions page, so read up before you download.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery: The Digitial Gallery provides over 700,000 images digitized from the NYPL collections. Materials downloaded from the New Your Public Library Digital Gallery may be used personal, educational, or research purposes; they may not be used for commercial purposes.
University of Texas at Austin Portrait Gallery: This site features a selection of portraits of historical figures from the Perry-Castañeda Library at the University of Texas at Austin. The images in this collection are in the public domain. You do not need to ask for permission to use these images.
U.S. Government Photos and Images: This page contains a collection of links to government agencies with digitized photo collections. From Grand Canyon Nation Park to the National Institute of Health, this extensive list is worth browsing. Note the disclaimer at the top: most images are in the public domain, but some have special licenses.
+ Flickr: Creative Commons Search: Flickr has teamed with Creative Commons to provide a search engine that combs Flickr for images you can use. The same rules apply as with other Creative Commons searches, check the license and attribute where necessary.
Google Copyright Free Images: Search specifically for copyright free images using Google's search engine.
SoundzAbound (through Badgerlink) go to http://www.badgerlink.net/all
Choose “All Resources” (green button on top left) and then scroll down to “s” for Soundazabound.
From there, if you click on Soundzabound audio(halfway down) and then Volume 1, you canbrowse the audio list for a song length, type (acoustic, reggae, etc.) and download for free. “Soundzabound offers a wide variety of music, audio themes and sound effects for grades K -12 and universities that ensures your copyright safety. Perfect for podcasts, PowerPoint™, videos, news shows, video yearbooks, digital storytelling, presentations, TV broadcasts, web design and more!”
Free Music Archive: Every mp3 you discover on The Free Music Archive is pre-cleared for certain types of uses that would otherwise be prohibited by copyright laws that were not designed for the digital era. These uses vary and are determined by the rightsholders themselves (please see their FAQ)
CC Mixter: Music on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons license. You are free to download and sample from music on this site and share the results with anyone, anywhere, anytime. Some songs might have certain restrictions, depending on their specific licenses. Each submission is marked clearly with the license that applies to it.
The Free Sound Project: Unlike CC Mixter, which focuses on providing songs for use, the Free Sound Project works to provide sounds and audio snippets to users. It’s a great resource for sound effects like creeky doors or animal noises.
Royalty Free Music: MUST cite this source for music if used in any videos that will be published online. Example: Title Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0, http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/ --- It is important that you replace the word Title with the Actual Title of the piece that you are using! The Licenses page has a quick copy-paste feature that makes it all very easy!
Josh Woodward.com: Produced with a Creative Commons license, you can freely download, share amd use all 200 of this artist's songs.
Free Sound.org : Freesound aims to create a huge collaborative database of audio snippets, samples, recordings, bleeps, ... released under Creative Commons licenses that allow their reuse.
Free Stock Music: "We offer a wide variety of 100% free production music in ten genres: cinematic scores, classical, corporate, country, easy listening, electronic, hip-hop, international, pop and rock." Songs for video, movie, film, video game, or media project. "Our music comes with a royalty-free license allowing you to use the music in all types of productions for worldwide distribution, forever. There are never any fees."
Find Sounds: a free site for finding sound effects on the Web. It is a Web search engine, like Google and Yahoo, but with a focus on sounds. "It is simple and easy to use, and suitable for all ages. Note to parents: audio files containing obscenities are filtered out so this site is safe for children."
See more options online here: http://www.symbaloo.com/mix/booktrailerresources
Create your video using Windows Movie Maker.
This is the time to make sure that all the images, videos, and audio are in the correct place. Use this time to make any final changes to your project before you share it with your class and teacher.
A note about copyright law: Copyright law basically means that if you didn’t create it (a song, a picture, etc.) then you cannot “publish it” (even online) without WRITTEN permission from the person who did create it. There is a sort of loophole called the Fair Use Act that basically says that if you are reviewing something (like a book, CD, movie, etc.), then you can use small parts of the item in your review.
So, that’s pretty restrictive! And we don’t break the law! So, what CAN you do? You can create all your own material (Garageband, voiceovers, drawings, take your own photos) AND you can use images and photos from specific web sites that GIVE you the permission to use their “stuff.”