Skip to main content

Africa / Notable Africans: Databases

This guide is part of 7th grade ELA / social studies curriculum, supporting the study of Africa and Notable Africans.

Databases

Databases

This column consists of databases for research.

Benefits of using databases:​

  • The information and sources are "vetted" - determined to be accurate and high-quality
  • The article citation is provided
  • Built in accessibility features
  • Topic overview articles

Challenges:

  • Articles tend to be very specific, so you might need to do more searching to find the information you need

Research in Context

Research in Context - Gale

Created specifically for middle school students, Research In Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more.

How to Use GALE Research in Context

More Resources for How to Use GALE Research in Context

Explora

Provided by BadgerLink

Explora dataebase logo

The search interface for EBSCO's middle & high school resources. For middle & high school students..
Provides topic overview articles and many features that make information accessible to the researcher.

How to Use Explora

Encyclopedia Britannica

Provided by BadgerLink

Britannica School Middle logo
Encyclopedia articles with images, interactive maps, games, and other learning materials. For middle school students and educators.

How to Use Britannica

To access Britannica outside of school you will need to use your public library card number and PIN.

En Español

Provided by BadgerLink

logo for Britannica Escolar

Enciclopedia español para los estudiantes más jóvenes y educadores Spanish encyclopedia for younger students and educators.

To access BadgerLink outside of school you will need to use your public library card number and PIN.

SIRS Researcher

SIRS Knowledge Source logo
Includes an overview of the controversial topic, pro/con sides, and articles on the issue. Also includes many articles involving notable people with accessible features to support the researcher.

How to Use SIRS Researcher

Username and password required for remote access.
Ask your librarian.

Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

Provided by Badgerlink

Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia for college-level and adult researchers. Provides topic overview information.

BadgerLink

[ BadgerLink logo ]

BadgerLink is the database of databases for the state of Wisconsin. Search all databases through a Super Search or access other specific databases not listed here.

To access BadgerLink outside of school, log in under Madison Metropolitan School District using your student ID.

Search Engines

Search Engines

This column consists of online sources usually found through a search engine.

Benefits of using search engine:

  • General information is easier to find

Challenges:

  • You need to determine the credibility of your source because anyone can post online (complete C.R.A.P. analysis)
  • You need to cite your source yourself using EasyBib

Conducting a Google Search

Conducting a Google Search

Google is the most popular search engine. This video walks you through how to do an effective search using Google, as well as important things to consider when selecting a source to read.

Biography.com

Biography,com logo

Every life has a story.  With over 7,000 biographies, Biography.com captures the most gripping, surprising and fascinating stories about famous people.

 

Infoplease.com

infoplease.com logo

Infoplease is a free online encyclopedia put out by Pearson Education. All of the information found on the site is gathered from trusted sources, and it acts like a typical encyclopedia. Search under "People."

Other Sources

Online Reference Materials

Access Public Libraries for Research

the word library

Access community libraries for more resources.