Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

West LMC: Databases

BadgerLink

BadgerLink

BadgerLink has a large collection of resources free for Wisconsin residents. You can access information on almost any topic with these databases.

Not on Campus? 
See login instructions here!

BrainPOP

BrainPOP logoBrainPOP Español logoBrainPOP Français logoBrainPOP ELL logo

BrainPOP is a group of educational websites with over 1,000 short animated movies for students, together with quizzes and related materials. Choose between the classic, English Language Learners, Spanish, and French editions of BrainPOP!

Click here to log in through ClassLink
(look for the purple Library Resources folder).
NOTE: Español and Français do not have their own buttons, but can be accessed through regular BrainPop.

Academic Video Online

ProQuest Alexander Street Academic Video Online

Academic Video Online delivers almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street. Most videos include public performance rights, as well as personal and educational use.

If Academic Video Online doesn't have what you are looking for, you can make a request for content to be added to the collection here!

Click here to log in through ClassLink
(look for the purple Library Resources folder).

Britannica Enciclopedia Moderna (en Español)

Provided by BadgerLink

Encyclopedia Britannica in Spanish

A Spanish version of an up-to-date information/encyclopedia resource on almost any topic. It includes articles, media, and primary sources.

Britannica Online

Provided by BadgerLink

Britannica School Edition

An up-to-date information/encyclopedia resource on almost any topic. It includes articles, media, and primary sources.

CultureGrams

ProQuest CultureGrams logo

Up-to-date country reports from the around the world that includes information on daily life, history, customs, and governments.

Click here to log in through ClassLink
(look for the purple Library Resources folder).

Explore

Provided by BadgerLink

EBSCO Explora

Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality. Searches Consumer Health Complete, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, GreenFILE, Health Source: Consumer Edition, History Reference Center, Literary Reference Center, MAS Ultra: School Edition, MasterFILE Complete, Middle Search Plus, Newspaper Source Plus, and Science Reference Center.

Flocabulary

Flocabulary

Hip-hop videos to help you learn about topics that you are studying in class. Get login information from your teacher.

Click here to log in through ClassLink
(look for the purple Library Resources folder).

Free Digital Newspaper Access

Wisconsin State Journal

The Wisconsin State Journal's digital edition is available to schools.

New York Times
Follow these instructions to access your account for the New York Times. Contact Ms. Hennes if you need assistance.

Gale eBooks

Gale eBooks

Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.

Click here to log in through ClassLink
(look for the purple Library Resources folder).

Gale In Context: Biography

Gale in Context Biography

Gale In Context: Biography is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people.

Click here to log in through ClassLink
(look for the purple Library Resources folder).

Gale In Context: High School

Gale in Context High School

Gale In Context: High School provides grades 9-12 with content aligned to national and state curriculum standards to help with papers, projects, and presentations, while empowering student development of critical thinking and information literacy skills.

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.

Click here to log in through ClassLink
(look for the purple Library Resources folder).

Gale in Context: Science

Gale in Context Science

Gale In Context: Science is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.

Click here to log in through ClassLink
(look for the purple Library Resources folder).

Gale Power Search

Gale Power Search

Search all of our library's Gale resources at the same time or use the "topic finder" to help narrow your research focus

Click here to log in through ClassLink
(look for the purple Library Resources folder).

JSTOR

JSTOR

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform, and preserves this content for future generations.

Click here to log in through ClassLink
(look for the purple Library Resources folder).

LearningExpress College Test Prep

Provided by BadgerLink

LearningExpress College Admissions Test Preparation icon

Use LearningExpress College Admissions Test Preparation to prepare for important exams like the ACT, SAT, AP Tests, and more.

NoodleTools

NoodleTool logo

NoodleTools is a responsive, user-friendly research management platform with baked-in wisdom accumulated over years, and a proven track record across thousands of schools and universities.

Click here to log in through ClassLink
(look for the purple Library Resources folder).

NoveList Plus

NoveList Plus

NoveList Plus is the premiere database of reading recommendations, available through libraries around the world presenting fiction, nonfiction and audiobooks and includes expert recommendations, reviews, articles, lists and more.

Click here to log in through ClassLink
(look for the purple Library Resources folder).

SIRS Researcher

ProQuest SIRS Issues Researcher

SIRS Issues Researcher provides background and current analysis necessary for research and understanding of 360+ current and pervasive Leading Issues. Analysis and opinions cover the pros, cons, and everything in between on the most researched and debated social issues.

Click here to log in through ClassLink
(look for the purple Library Resources folder).

Swank K-12 Streaming

Swank K-12 Streaming

ACCESS FOR TEACHERS ONLY

STUDENTS: Your teacher will share a direct link to any films being used in class. You will need to be logged in to a tab with ClassLink in order for the film to play.

Swank K-12 Streaming is a convenient, controlled, and connected streaming platform that makes it easy for teachers to incorporate high-quality films into lesson plans. The library includes thousands of films for educational support, including the top feature films, documentaries and foreign titles.

Click here to log in through ClassLink
(look for the purple Library Resources folder).

Teen Health & Wellness

Teen Health and Wellness

Teen Health & Wellness is a comprehensive database that allows teens (and those who care about them) to research health-related issues important to their well-being. It’s both a research and report tool and a self-help resource. 

Click here to log in through ClassLink
(look for the purple Library Resources folder).

Off-Campus Logins for Databases

key icon Get the passwords!

If you need to access our databases from home use this document to get the usernames and passwords.  You will need to be signed into your MMSD Google account in order to access the document.

STAFF ONLY: Use this document for educator-only access to our databases.